top of page

Teachers Pay Teachers Saved My Sanity


Hello friends!

Have you ever come back from a holiday break with out a clue as to what you would teach that day?

Between the shopping, cooking, eating, and fun of the Christmas season, I am ashamed to admit I did just that! But trusting my creative instincts was not enough to pull me out of this "teacher-shoulda-prepared-herself" situation.

I sat at my desk looking over my clean tables and boxes of art supplies with blank eyes. What could we do today? How did I manage not to prepare before I left? Should I use one of my precious substitute lessons?

The minutes ticked by as I frantically look over internet ideas for a drawing lesson. Then I remember TeachersPayTeachers is not just to sell things on! It's there to help me too!

Getting back my sanity cost the whole amount of $10!

You can find the same lesson here:

Thank you so much Mr. Cummins of Outside the Lines Design!!!

And it wasn't just my sanity I paid $10 for......this presidential portrait lesson actually lasted three class periods AND made a great display (.....except the portrait of Reagan strangely went missing).

And we loved our results so much that I made another lesson in the same style as Mr. Cummins on Influential African Americans. This lesson consists of simpler line drawings I made of each person, then added the grid tools students would need. I also made the lesson as a multipage packet so each student could choose who they wanted to draw.

Now that January has come and gone, I see that TeachersPayTeachers saved my sanity and inspired the entire month.

Let me brag on...I mean....show you photos of my kids work.......lol......

Presidential Portraits by 6th-8th graders!

(Side note:Where did Reagan go? After all were neatly added to our display, I was out a week with the flu. When I return, Reagan is gone!)

Here is are their portraits of Influential African Americans that were inspired by the Presidential Portrait lesson.

influential african americans portrait lesson results

The Influential African Americans lesson can be found on my store as an EasyArt lesson. EasyArt lessons are made for, tested by, and approved by my own students. I only post what has worked for us.

What about you? Have you ever had a day where you failed to prepare? Did it work out for good or bad? Share your comments!

bottom of page