top of page

The Number One Reason Why Teaching Art Should Be Easy

Hello Friends! Welcome to my very first blog post. As a middle school art teacher I love to share. Which is great because as art teachers we are often called to share our talents, time, supplies, ideas, and more.

I remember spending literally hours trying to plan lessons for my students.

I had always heard that teaching art should be the "easiest teaching job".....but I honestly never believed it until the last few years. How did I finally start believing this?

HERE'S WHY:

You are an Artist. Not just an artist who creates, an Artist that Inspires others to also be artists.

Don't Stress that the lesson plan is not going just right. Don't fret that the grades have to be entered by 3:00. You are a professional and you will get all that done (coffee helps).

Start with Simple. Pick that favorite image you see on the internet and ask yourself, "How do I show my students that they can do this too?' Then grab your notebook and start writing out the steps it would take.

Show Them How. Put those steps in student-friendly language on your favorite presentation technique, powerpoint, poster, whiteboard,..work in your style! Don't forget a to add a few examples. I like to make a project and take photos as I go, then enlarge the photos for demo purposes.

Smile. Show your students that making art is the best part of their day.

Teaching art is the best job because you are using your creative talents to show others how to do what you do.

I'd love to share with you. Come see me on Pinterest at mrs.mARTin'sartroom!

Teaching Art is Easy

bottom of page